UNESCO declares Mura-Drava-Danube as biosphere reserve

With the world facing climate and nature crises, UNESCO’s designation on 15 September 2021 of the Mura-Drava-Danube as the world’s first ‘5-country biosphere reserve’ represents a historic step towards a new era for people and nature in Europe as well as an international model for regional conservation, climate resilience and sustainable development.

Stretching across Austria, Slovenia, Croatia, Hungary and Serbia, the biosphere reserve covers 700km of the Mura, Drava and Danube rivers and a total area of almost 1 million hectares in the so-called ‘Amazon of Europe’ – making it the largest riverine protected area on the continent.

MAVA has been supporting the work towards the creation of this transboundary biosphere reserve for many years and warmly congratulates all the parties involved, in particular WWF Austria, EuroNatur and the many local conservation partners in the five countries who have worked hard to get to this point.

Read WWF’s full news item here.

Website: www.amazon-of-europe.com/en

Previous post


Next post